, , , , , , , , , ,

Unlike the Halflings from last week, the problem with Magic Users wasn’t filling the list, but keeping it contained. In the end I tried to keep them very distinct from the commonly existing subclasses that already exist. My goal in time is to make subclasses for each of those “full” subclasses anyways.

Remember – if using these rules, all characters must have a subclass. If you really don’t want a subclass, petition the GM to let you take the focused subclass (Focused Fighter, etc), which provides no new abilities, but instead makes leveling up a bit faster.

Wizard Illustration (c) Wizards of the Coast

Wizard Illustration (c) Wizards of the Coast

Magic User Subclasses (d12)

  1. Warlock – 1d3 damage, 60′ range magic blast at will
  2. Sensitive – Detect magic by touch
  3. Savant – Identify magic items – takes 1 hour and 100 gp
  4. Scribe – Can copy a scroll for 1/2 the normal cost & time to make one.
  5. Alchemist – Can make a copy of a potion for 1/2 the normal cost & time to make one.
  6. Seer – Cast Augury 1/day per 3 levels
  7. Witch-Hunter – +2 on saves versus spells
  8. Two-Fisted Sorcerer – Can cast two spells in one round 1/day
  9. God-Touched – At each spell level replace one magic user spell with a spell from the same level cleric spell list.
  10. Guardmage – Can wear leather armour
  11. Focused – +10% to earned XP
  12. Choose one or make up a new one