, , , , , , , , , ,

The warriors of all things just, and good… and often an excuse to be an annoying prat at the table. The Paladin is an oft-maligned class because some people can’t role play lawful good without it being lawful-pain-in-the-ass and lawful I-have-a-stick-up-my-ass. To add variety to this list of lawful alignments, here’s a d12 table of paladin subclasses!

Remember – if using these rules, all characters must have a subclass. If you really don’t want a subclass, petition the GM to let you take the focused subclass (Focused Paladin), which provides no new abilities, but instead makes leveling up a bit faster.

Dawnstrike Paladin (c) Wizards of the Coast

Dawnstrike Paladin (c) Wizards of the Coast

Paladin Subclasses (roll d12)

  1. Paragon of Virtue  – Protection from evil effect is increased by 5′ at level 1, and an additional 5′ / 5 levels thereafter
  2. Demon-Hunter – +1 damage / 3 levels against demons, devils and similar extradimensional evils
  3. Sun Sword – Can turn undead as a cleric of equal level and cast light once per day
  4. Knight Errant –  +1 to hit and damage from horseback, good judge of horseflesh (roll mount hit points twice, take the better)
  5. Zealous Champion – Can frenzy in battle 1/day: +2 AC, +1 to hit and damage
  6. Blessed Sentinel – -1 chance to be surprised
  7. Learned Warden – Can use clerical scrolls starting at level 1
  8. Oathbound Protector – Double the effect of lay on hands ability
  9. Penitent Crusader – d10 hit die (d12 if using advanced hit dice)
  10. Arcon of Law – Detect Evil and Protection from Evil also detect and protect from Chaos.
  11. Focused – +10% to earned XP
  12. Choose one or make up a new one